GoodBye Firefox

It’s been great while it lasted and you lasted longer than my 1GHZ PC.

Since version 13 :

Firefox officially dropped support for XP Service Pack 1

Like a few other die-hards on the internet, I refuse to upgrade to SP2/SP3.
Mainly because those service packs are full of unneccesary bloat.

SP1 runs nicely on my old PC, a fanless (silent) VIA Epia CN1000.
I can still fit SP1 on a 2GB compact flash partition with 1GB free.

SP3 will fit too (with 755MB free) but it really needs another Ghz to run smoothly.

My VIA board will now retire to become a 24 hr web server. I can still run Opera
if I need to browse.

Oh Phoenix, those were the days..

Tags:

Leave a Reply

